top of page

Kirsi Varsa--Extraordinary Individuals in Society

WE CARE is so honored to have Mrs. Varsa be part of our new EIS campaign! We want to thank her for taking time to answering our questions and for being an extremely important member of our society! Please take the time to read her responses for she is truly a global, hard working, and inspiring individual!

Tell us a little about yourself!

I’m 40 years old and grew up in Finland. I’m a mother of three teenagers and my husband is Hungarian. We are an international family and speak three languages at the dinner table. We have relocated few times between the U.S. and Europe. I work as a school counselor at Pine Lake Middle School, ISD.

Who is your idol?

My deceased grandmother ‘mummu’ was my role model growing up. Mummu’s life wasn’t easy, but she had a huge heart, was active member of the Alcoholics Anonymous, and always had time for people in need.

What is an achievement you are proud of?

We have raised three responsible and independent children without any family support network. I have also recreated my career and identity several times following our international moves.

What is a conflict that you overcame in your journey?

In my 20s and 30s, I felt frustrated when leaving my job and life to follow my husband to wherever his career took us. It takes perseverance and determination to start from square one over and over again. I have learned to appreciate how each place increases my understanding about people, cultures, societies, and about myself.

How do you represent women locally and globally?

I support and advocate for young women so that they feel proud of who they are and what they represent. I use social media to raise awareness about different issues. I hope to inspire girls and women to find a way to contribute for the common good that exists beyond their homes; whether it’s working or volunteering.

What inspired you to take up the role/ position you are in today and what continues to inspire to work?

In 2014, I was working as a consultant and applied for a dream position at a local hi-tech company. I got the offer only to turn it down due to family reasons. I knew I needed a change, but felt lost. I began to entertain the idea of returning back to teaching. In my role, I collaborated with school counselors and watched them in action. I took a leap of faith and entered a graduate school while still working part-time. My first position was in high school and have worked in middle school since last year. I’m a school counselor because I love working with students, families, and teachers. I help kids and parents navigate through challenging situations and advocate for equity. Every day in office is different, full of opportunities and stories!

What are three words you would use to describe your journey so far?

Courage, change, and perseverance.

As a hard wokring woman, what would you like to say to other women around the world?

We can make a difference in this world! Don’t accept your destiny. Start from yourself and from people around you. Education and access to education is the key.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page